B/c jury duty isn’t painful enough

So, I’m Juror #11 of 50 and squished against the wall sitting in my little wooden chair next to 300 lbs. of loud Philadelphian. Seems like a nice enough guy. Some small talk about the Flyers run in the Stanley Cup and the Phillies problems. Then he decides to tell me, out of the blue, that he’s a born-again Christian.

Then he decides to tell me, without a touch of irony, that he works as a painter, but he’s getting paid “under the table,” but he’s still on unemployment because he got laid off from his job.

Then he decides to tell everyone in earshot that “The Passion of the Christ” is his favorite movie of all time. It was violent, but it had to be violent, because everyone should understand what Jesus went through.

The he offers everyone some tracts about Jesus. I politely decline.

THEN, he proceeds to (1) discuss how scientists have found Noah’s Ark and he saw a TV show about people walking around inside it, (2) praise the Creation Museum, and (3) inform us that dinosaurs came from elephants (which is, frankly, a new one on me).

10 minutes pinching the bridge of my nose failed to send the message I wanted. Next time I’m going to have to speak up. But as I said, I was trapped against the wall, in a courtroom, and he was a big, loud boy.

One Response to B/c jury duty isn’t painful enough

  1. Ydnar* says:

    He was just trying to get dismissed

Leave a Reply

